What’s all the fuss about?

I’m just going to say it.  I don’t have an Instagram.

[insert pause for gasps]

Don’t get me wrong, I certainly see the appeal of it.  I’m not trying to defy social constructs by refusing to partake in social media.  I have Facebook and Twitter, but the thought of having an Instagram is daunting to me.  I already have enough trouble trying to generate content on those other two platforms.  I barely post anything on Facebook except for the occasional picture or Merry Christmas status, and I’ve gone days without tweeting anything.  Sometimes I’ll joke that I just don’t have much say, but that’s not entirely true.  I have plenty of comments to make throughout the day, but I don’t usually feel compelled to take the time to share it with my followers.  It’s easier to continue on with the day.  I would rather read other people’s posts than take the time to post one myself.

If I have so much trouble posting words (which happen to be my thing), how am I going to come up with photos to post?  That’s what turns me off from getting an Instagram.  What could I possibly take photos of besides the occasional birthday or basketball game?  Pretty flowers I see on my walk to class?  The 14 billion coffee cups I consume in a year?  Now I just feel like a basic white girl.

So I agree with danah boyd’s response to the Andrew Watts post on Medium.  Watts makes a lot of generalizations that don’t apply to all of our generation.  Instagram seems pretty great, and it’s surely all the rage.  I don’t discount that at all.  But it’s not making Facebook and Twitter obsolete quite yet.  And yes, this is coming from a 21-year-old college student.  I was alive during the birth of social media and am now living in the age of it.

Who knows, maybe I’m overthinking this whole Instagram debacle and will end up having one in the next six months.  In the meantime, I think I’ll hold off on that and keep thinking of things to tweet.

Leave a Reply

